Friday, December 23, 2011

[digital] V.A. - X-Sampler Purple LP

Artist(s): Alexkid, Anthea, Danny Ocean, Davide Squillace, Filsonik, Funk E, Guti, Hector, Martin Buttrich, Reboot
Name: X-Sampler Purple
Genre: tech-house, deep-house, house
Label: Desolat
Catalog: DESOLAT020
No. of tracks: 7
Type: unmixed + mixed by Livio & Roby


01. Alexkid & Hector – Ontra
02. Danny Ocean – Backstage
03. Funk E – Goostep
04. Filsonik – Tamur
05. Reboot – Daddy
06. Martin Buttrich & Davide Squillace – Mishima
07. Anthea & Guti – Option One


Each year Desolat has prepared a special compilation, having a different color. And we had red (the review here) and also blue (find it here). Now it`s time for purple.  

Thursday, December 22, 2011

[digital] Nick Curly - Still Not Sorry EP

Artist(s): Nick Curly
Name: Still Not Sorry
Genre: tech-house, house
Label: 8Bit
Catalog: 8BIT052
No. of tracks: 3
Type: unmixed


01. Still Not Sorry
02. Rebound (Dub)
03. Rebound


The last 8Bit for 2011 brings in front one of the two bosses, namely Nick Curly. His skills are undeniable, both when talking about mixing or about production. His fans will have what to celebrate in 2012, with the appearance of his long awaited LP, but until then we can hear him in the latest 8Bit.

[digital] Siopis - Day Alive EP

Artist(s): Siopis
Name: Day Alive
Genre: tech-house, deep-house
Label: Get Physical
Catalog: GPM170
No. of tracks: 2
Type: unmixed


01. Day Alive
02. Go Past


Maybe the last Physical of 2011 features Siopis in his 14th release on the German label. And what a better way to end the year with an artist that released, among others, tracks for 3 Full Body Workouts, GPM 100 and 7 Years Compilation.

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

[digital] Merveille & Crosson - DRM Part 1 EP

Artist(s): Ryan Crosson, Cesar Merveille
Name: DRM Part 1
Genre: deep-house
Label: Visionquest
Catalog: VQ008
No. of tracks: 3
Type: unmixed


01. DRM
02. Orca
03. The Day You Left


A new duo is formed, composed of Ryan Crosson (Trapez, Desolat, Minux, Wolf + Lamb) and Cesar Merveille (Cadenza, Monique Musique), on their second release as individuals for Visionquest, but first as a group.

[digital] Steve Lawler & Detlef - Audition EP

Artist(s): Steve Lawler, Detlef; remix by Davide Squillace
Name: Audition
Genre: tech-house
Label: VIVa Music
Catalog: VIVA086
No. of tracks: 2
Type: unmixed


01. Audition
02. Audition (Davide Squillace Lovely Nightmare Remix)


With feedback from none others than Nick Curly, Reboot, Tiefschwarz, Laurent Garnier, Robert Dietz, and many more, this two track EP will keep you jolly this Christmas season.

Thursday, December 15, 2011

[digital] M.A.N.D.Y. vs. Booka Shade - Home Remixes Pt. 1 EP

Artist(s): M.A.N.D.Y., Booka Shade; remixes by Tim Green, Jona, Monaque
Name: Home Remixes Pt. 1
Genre: tech-house, deep-house
Label: Get Physical
Catalog: GPM156
No. of tracks: 3
Type: unmixed


01. Home (Tim Green Remix)
02. Home (Jona Remix)
03. Home (Monaque Remix)


I can`t even remember the last time I saw a M.A.N.D.Y. vs. Booka Shade track, but their track Home, from Body Language Vol. 10 gets some remix packs. And the first one is in stores now...

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

[digital] Davide Squillace - Muchachos Y Cabrones EP

Artist(s): Davide Squillace; remixes by G Flame, Robert Dietz, Sis
Name: Muchachos Y Cabrones
Genre: tech-house
Label: Hideout
Catalog: Ho011
No. of tracks: 3
Type: normal


01. Crocodile Tears (Robert Dietz Cry Me A River Mix)
02. Crocodile Tears (G Flame Remix)
03. Crocodile Tears (SIS remix)


Some time has passed since the last Hideout, featuring Squillace and Guti (here is the review), and, as its predecessor, the 011th release brings out big names to the front. And now it`s time for some good music...

Monday, December 12, 2011

[digital] Ross Evana & Yousef - 09.12.2011 EP

Artist(s): Yousef, Ross Evana
Name: 09.12.2011
Genre: tech-house
Label: Cecille Numbers
Catalog: CEN015
No. of tracks: 4
Type: unmixed


01. Ross Evana – Devil Inside
02. Ross Evana – Losing Consciousness
03. Yousef – Don’t Worry About It
04. Yousef – Launch Baby Ready


Ross Evana (Cocoon, Cr2, Toolroom) joins forces with Yousef (Cr2, Monique Musique, Cocoon) to deliver a 4-tracked EP, marking their return on Numbers. Each side features one artist, and the whole release has a special name, its own release date.

Sunday, December 11, 2011

[digital] Dominik Eulberg - Diorama Remixes Pt. 2

Dominik Eulberg; remixes by Stephan Bodzin, Kollektiv Turmstrasse, Hot Chip, Extrawelt, Gabriel Ananda, Rone
Name: Diorama Remixes Pt. 2
Genre: techno
Label: Traum
Catalog: TRAUMV145
No. of tracks: 8 (digital), 4 (vinyl)
Type: unmixed


01. Der Tanz Der Gluehwuermchen (Kollektiv Turmstrasse "Dirt Glow" Remix)*
02. H2o (Hot Chip Vocal Edit Mix)*
03. Die 3 Millionen Musketiere (Extrawelt Remix)*
04. Die 3 Millionen Musketiere (Gabriel Ananda "Kleines Woelkchen" Remix)*
05. Der Tanz Der Gluehwuermchen (Rone Remix)
06. H2o (Hot Chip Extended Vocal Mix)
07. H2o (Hot Chip Extended Instrumental Mix)
08. Teddy Tausendtod (Stephan Bodzin "Zebra" Remix)

* on vinyl release


Dominik Eulberg`s nature inspired top class album Diorama (a review here) got it`s second remix pack, not long after the first one hit the stores, featuring works by Stephan Bodzin and Petar Dundov (a review here). With names like Kollektiv Turmstrasse, Gabriel Ananada and Extrawelt involved, there is no chance you can go on with your life without listening to it.

Friday, December 9, 2011

[digital] V.A. - Letters From Venice

Artist(s): Sello, The Banister Soul, Lownza, Robby Olson, Fog, Dj Da, Highland Brothers Inc., 9west
Name: Letters From Venice
Genre: deep-house
Label: Back And Forth
Catalog: BAFDIGI010
No. of tracks: 7
Type: unmixed


01. Sello - Such As More

02. The Banister Soul - T Session

03. Lownza & Robby Olson - Break The Loop

04. Fog - Go Easy On Me Luv

05. Dj Da - Broken Mirror

06. Highland Brothers Inc. - Like You Didn't Know

07. 9west - My Way


Christmas is coming up fast, and if you`re planning to put some good music under the tree, and you`re looking for deep-house, I`ll recommend the new compilation from the label owned by Cosmic Cowboys, Back and Forth.

Thursday, December 8, 2011

[digital] M.A.N.D.Y. vs. Adultnapper - 201 EP

Artist(s): M.A.N.D.Y., Adultnapper; remixes by Jona, Findling, Pele, Ben Hoo
Name: 201
Genre: tech-house
Label: Kindisch
Catalog: KD035
No. of tracks: 4
Type: unmixed


01. 201
02. 201 (Jona Remix)
03. 201 (Findling & Pele Remix)
04. 201 (Ben Hoo Remix)


It`s now time to turn our attention to Kindisch, the sublabel of Physical Music, in which you can find a sound that was once the basis of it`s sister label. And to reiterate this feeling, we find M.A.N.D.Y. and Jona on the list of artists for their new release, names not new to the German label.

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

[digital] V.A. - Full Body Workout Vol. 8

Artist(s): Dapayk Solo, Elon, Hamid & Arnauld LeTexier, Javier Logares, Kris Wadsworth, Murat, Pele & Shawnecey, Rauwkost, Siopis, Smash TV
Name: Full Body Workout Vol. 8
Genre: tech-house
Label: Get Physical
Catalog: GPMDA048
No. of tracks: 10
Type: unmixed


01. Dapayk Solo – Down The Block
02. Elon – Turkey Bark
03. Hamid & Arnaud LeTexier – The Price Of Beans (feat. Stacey DeLooze)
04. Javier Logares – One Upon A Riff
05. Kris Wadsworth – Assador
06. Murat – Divide & Conquer
07. Pele & Shawnecey – Down Low
08. Rauwkost – Der Schnitt
09. Siopis – The Monkey Hair
10. Smash TV – After All These Years


It`s the end of the year, and Physical Music delights us with another collection to put in our record boxes, for the 8th consecutive year. Let`s see what`s the latest installment like...

[digital] Daniel Dubb - She`s a Swinger/Alone Again EP

Artist(s): Daniel Dubb
Name: She`s a Swinger/Alone Again
Genre: tech-house
Label: VIVa Music
Catalog: VIVA074
No. of tracks: 2
Type: unmixed


01. She`s a Swinger

02. Alone Again


It`s strange that VIVa, a label I really like, was not yet featured on my blog. But what can be a better way to do that than to open the record box in search for a good old EP.

Saturday, December 3, 2011

[digital] Stefano Libelle - I Hear Voices EP

Artist(s): Stefano Libelle
Name: I Hear Voices
Genre: tech-house, house, deep-house
Label: 8bit
Catalog: 8BIT051
No. of tracks: 4
Type: unmixed


01. Tall Bold Slugger

02. Losing The Physics
03. We Need To Stop
04. Suncatcher


Gorge`s and Curly`s 8bit passed the half way towards 100 releases a few weeks back, and now Stefano Libelle takes a new step further, with his second appearance on the label. 

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

[dj set] Above & Beyond - Trance Around The World (TATW) # 400

DJ: Above & Beyond
Name: Trance Around The World 400
Genre: trance
No. of songs: 20
Time: 2:00:00

A new milestone was set last week by the trio Above & Beyond, that have celebrated their 400th show in Beirut. Hear the best tunes selected for this occasion. You can hear it here, just go down the page.

[digital] Tim Green - In Love EP

Artist(s): Tim Green
Name: In Love
Genre: tech-house, house
Label: Get Physical Music
Catalog: GPM164
No. of tracks: 2
Type: unmixed


01. In Love

02. Gum Stew


Physical Music released the second Tim Green-only EP out on their label, but the UK-based artist has been present on Miami 2010 Sampler and the 8 Years compilation. With the talent he possesses, it`s no wonder that the huge German label is helping him release his works to the public.

[digital] Cosmic Cowboys - Notre Jour Viendra EP

Artist(s): Cosmic Cowboys; remixes by youANDme, Lake People
Name: Notre Jour Viendra
Genre: techno, tech-house
Label: Musik Gewinnt Freunde
Catalog: MGF019
No. of tracks: 4
Type: unmixed


01. Notre Jour Viendra

02. Notre Jour Viendra (youANDme Remix)
03. Deux Histories
04. Notre Jour Viendra (Lake People Remix)


The third EP of the Cosmic Cowboys marks the 3rd review on a Musik Gewinnt Freunde release here at my blog. And it`s not the first time I said that Kollektiv Turmstrasse are one of my all time favorite acts when it comes to music, so it is normal for me to keep an eye on their label.

Monday, November 28, 2011

[digital] Above & Beyond - Formula Rossa

Artist(s): Above & Beyond; remix by Jaytech
Name: Formula Rossa
Genre: trance, progressive house
Label: Anjunabeats
Catalog: ANJ221D
No. of tracks: 2
Type: unmixed


01. Formula Rossa
02. Formula Rossa (Jaytech Remix)


Played since Trance Around The World 350, over 1 year back, its time for Formula Rossa to make it into the shops and definitely into our collections.

Saturday, November 26, 2011

[dj set] Sven Vath - The Sound of the Twelfth Season

DJ: Sven Vath
Name: The Sound of the Twelfth Season
Genre: techno, tech-house
Label: Cocoon
Catalog: CORMIX027
No. of CDs: 2
No. of songs: 25
Time: 2:38:40

Note: you can find a selection of the songs as Youtube links at the back of this article


CD1: Night

01. Efdemin – There Will Be Singing (DJ Koze Remix)
02. Dense & Pika – Vomee
03. Levon Vincent – Man or Mistress
04. Boys Noize – Adonis
05. Justin Vandervolgen – Clapping Song
06. Todd Terje – Ragysh
07. Mark E – Belvide Beat
08. Chateau Flight – Chichi Devils
09. Aufgang – Dulceria (Clark Remix)
10. Gary Beck – Enough Talk
11. Benoit & Sergio – Let Me Count The Ways
12. Acquiescence – Nocturnal Wave
13. Roman Flügel – Brian Le Bon

CD2: Day

01. Move D – Workshop 13 A1
02. Omar S – Here’s Your Trance Now Dance
03. Steffi – Yours Feat. Virginia
04. Gerd – Time & Space (2011 Rub)
05. Osunlade – Envision (Âme Remix)
06. Allì Borèm – Scotch Your Mind
07. Maceo Plex – Falling
08. Anthony Collins – Don’t Look Down Now (Roman Flügel Remix)
09. Philip Bader – Hou!!!
10. Matt John – The Blue Storm
11. Re. You – Ghost
12. Mark E – The Day


It`s a rarity to post on my blog dj sets, and this is the 2nd time I`m doing this, so it must be a special event.

[digital] DJ W!ld pres. V.A. - Catwash Hors-Serie Vol. 05

Artist(s): DJ Wild, Sammy Dee, Chris Carrier, William Kouam Djoko, Shaun Reeves
Name: Catwash Hors-Serie Vol. 05
Genre: tech-house
Label: Catwash Hors-Serie
Catalog: CWHS005
No. of tracks: 3
Type: unmixed


01. DJ Wild & Sammy Dee – Dur
02. DJ Wild & Chris Carrier & William Kouam Djoko – WCW
03. DJ Wild & Shaun Reeves – New Chez Moi


I had the pleasure to hear Dj Wild (or W!ld) mixing one night, and since then I am always interested when his name comes up. He is joined by 4 others in this short EP compilation that consists of variations of tech-house.

Friday, November 25, 2011

[digital] Basti Grub - Basti And The Gang EP

Artist(s): Basti Grub
Name: Basti & The Gang
Genre: tech-house
Label: Desolat
Catalog: DESOLATX014
No. of tracks: 3
Type: unmixed


01. Walking In My Blues (Feat. Agent)
02. Mediante (Feat. Mike Trend)
03. Hang Over (Feat. Mike Trend)


Thank God, a new Desolat hit the market a few days ago, starring Basti Grub and (obviously) friends. And we get 3 tracks, two of them of normal length, and the 3rd totaling 11 minutes. So, is it any good?

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

[digital] UGLH - Funky Mood EP

Artist(s): UGLH; remixes by Kruse & Nurnberg, Markus Schatz, Francesco Bonora, Decoside
Name: Funky Mood
Genre: house, deep-house
Label: Back & Forth
Catalog: BAFDIGI008
No. of tracks: 6
Type: unmixed


01. Funky Mood (original mix)
02. Funky Mood (Kruse & Nuernberg Remix)
03. Funky Mood (Markus Schatz Downtown Mix)
04. Funky Mood (Markus Schatz Oldschool Mix)
05. Funky Mood (Francesco Bonora Remix)
06. Funky Mood (Decoside Remix)


Maybe this sounds familiar, but in a way it is, as the first 2 tracks of this remix pack were already reviewed by me here, filling one side of the vinyl. Remembering what I said then...

Sunday, November 13, 2011

[digital] Dominik Eulberg - Diorama Remixes Pt. 1

Artist(s): Dominik Eulberg; remixes by Stephan Bodzin, Petar Dundov, Ryan Davis, Jesse Somfray
Name: Diorama Remixes Pt. 1
Genre: techno
Label: Traum
Catalog: TRAUMV144
No. of tracks: 5
Type: unmixed


01. Teddy Tausendtod (Stephan Bodzin Marabu remix)
02. Der Tanz Der Gluehwuermchen (Petar Dundov remix)
03. Taeuschungs-Blume (Ryan Davis Narciss Render)
04. Teddy Tausendtod (Stephan Bodzin Flamingo remix)
05. Echomaus (Jesse Somfray Xaltill remix)


New EP out on Traum, representing the first pack of remixes from the excellent Domink Eulberg album (find the review here). But how will other people put their own mark on these haunting songs? Let`s find out...

Saturday, November 12, 2011

[digital] Sound Apparel - Conventum EP

Artist(s): Sound Apparel
Name: Conventum
Genre: trance
Label: Pulsar Recordings
Catalog: PULSAR015
No. of tracks: 2
Type: unmixed


01. Conventum
02. Conventum (Percussion Mix)


Uplifting trance was always one of my weak spots, and now with the 15th release of Pulsar I experienced another good example defining the genre.

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

[digital] Flashmob - Brick House EP

Artist(s): Flashmob
Name: Brick House
Genre: house
Label: Get Physical
Catalog: GPM166
No. of tracks: 1
Type: unmixed


01. Brick House


A simple 1 track EP, that is what we get from Physical today, but in the end it is worth it, and you will find Dice, T., Sneak, Schumacher and Troxler playing it in their sets.

Monday, November 7, 2011

[digital] John Dimas, UGLH - Impress Me/Funky Mood EP

Artist(s): John Dimas, UGLH; remixes by Anonym, Kruse & Nurnberg
Name: Impress Me/Funky Mood
Genre: house, tech-house, deep-house, techno
Label: Back & Forth
Catalog: BAF003
No. of tracks: 4
Type: unmixed


01. John Dimas – Impress Me (Original Mix)
02. John Dimas – Impress Me (Anonym Show Me What’cha Got Remix)
03. UGLH – Funky Mood (Original Mix)
04. UGLH – Funky Mood (Kruse & Nürnberg Remix)


With support from Loco Dice and Laurent Garnier, followed by names like Tim Green, Anthony Collins, dOP or Italoboyz, it`s hard to miss the 3rd vinyl release of Cosmic Cowboy`s label, Back and Forth.

Thursday, November 3, 2011

[digital] Mazu - Love This EP

Artist(s): Mazu; remix by UGLH
Name: Love This
Genre: deep-house, house
Label: Caramella Records
Catalog: CARA013
No. of tracks: 3
Type: unmixed


01. Love This
02. Love This (UGLH Remix)
03. In The Deep of my Soul


If you want to hear a bit of true underground music you should definetly check Caramella out. 13 is a special number, and it`s worth checking out as it already has positive feedback from guys like Richie Hawtin, M.A.N.D.Y., Darius Syrossian, Leon, Mihai Popoviciu, Mobius Strum, Kruse & Nuernberg, Claude VonStroke, and many others.